8 of 9 Members Chosen For Council Districting Committee

May 29, 2019

Everett Government


8 appointed members will now choose a 9th.

Feeling they reached a reasonable geographic representation among the group of 44 applicants from 18 different neighborhoods the City Council and Mayor Cassie Franklin chose 8 people to serve on the committee that will draw up City Council districts in Everett, Washington.

The eight committee members will now go about choosing a ninth member of the commission. Once the committee is seated it will hire a “Districting Master” who will help them develop a district plan, including a map; the Commission can also retain other consultant support. The Commission will also engage the community and solicit feedback as they develop the draft plan. The draft district plan, including the map, will be shared with the public for comment with at least six meetings (one in each district area and one full community). These meetings will start no later than Sept. 2020.

The final district plan and map must be approved by the Commission no later than Nov. 1, 2020. City Council will then adopt the plan without modification. Here are the members chosen tonight and the neighborhoods they represent.

Liz Vogeli – Mary Fosse – Delta
Jeff Moore – Chris Geray – Silver Lake
Scott Murphy – James Langus – South Forest Park
Scott Bader -Ethel McNeal – Twin Creeks
Judy Tuohy – John Monroe – Port Gardner
Paul Roberts – Kari Quaas Northwest
Brenda Stonecipher – Simone Tarver – Bayside
Mayor Franklin – Benjamin Young – Valley View

You can follow the districting process and learn more here on the City’s website.

About My Everett News Staff

My Everett News is a hyperlocal news website featuring news and events in Everett, Washington. We also cover City of Everett information and items of interest to those who live and work in Everett.

View all posts by My Everett News Staff