E-DUI Law Moves From Warning Phase To Big Time Ticket

January 10, 2018

Everett

A great primer here from MyEverettNews.com sponsor McClain Insurance about how having your phone in your hand while driving can now cost you big money and lead to higher insurance rates. Right now you can stop by their office at 10410 19th Avenue SE just south of the Everett Costco and get free air vent mounted phone holders that will help you comply with Washington State’s “one finger/one swipe” requirement. Take a look at what the new law can cost you…

Q: What if I get pulled over while holding my cell phone?
A: You’ll receive an E-DUI ticket, which can impact your insurance premium

Although Washington’s Driving Under the Influence of Electronics (E-DUI) law went into effect on July 23, 2017, most law enforcement agencies gave drivers a six month grace period to adjust to the new law, which made it illegal for drivers to use cell phones and other hand-held electronic devices while driving. According to Q13 Fox, Washington State Patrol alone issued nearly 7,000 warnings to drivers during the grace period.

Beginning January 1, 2018, all Washington State law enforcement agencies are enforcing the new distracted driving law.

We cannot stress enough: E-DUI tickets are reported to your insurance company, just like speeding tickets. This means your car insurance premium can – and likely will – increase if you receive an E-DUI ticket. This is in addition to the cost of an E-DUI ticket, which increases with each violation:

  • First E-DUI: $136
  • Second E-DUI (within 5 years): $234

Why is this law necessary? According to the Washington State Traffic Safety Commission, fatalities from distracted driving increased 32% from 2014 to 2015, and one in four crashes involved cell phone use just prior to the crash. As independent insurance agents, we’ve seen a dramatic increase in claims due to distracted driving, particularly rear-end accidents. This leads to rate increases for everyone.

Here’s what you to know about Washington’s E-DUI law:

No hand-held cell phone use while driving: 

  • Even when stopped in traffic or at a traffic light
  • No typing messages or accessing information
  • No watching videos or using cameras

You CAN use your device if you are:

  • Hands-free (such as using Bluetooth) and can start use by a single touch or swipe without holding the phone
  • Parked or out-of-the-flow of traffic, including in a ferry line
  • Starting your GPS or music before you drive
  • Contacting emergency services

Regardless of how you feel about the law, McClain Insurance hopes to keep you safe and violation free! To that end, we are offering free air vent mounted phone holders that will help you comply with Washington state’s “one finger/one swipe” requirement. Please stop by our office in Everett, Washington, anytime to pick up as many phone cradles as needed. We hope that this will keep you and your family safe and compliant with Washington’s E-DUI law.

, ,

About myeverettnews

My Everett News is a hyperlocal news website featuring breaking news and events in Everett, WA. We also cover City of Everett information and items of interest to those who live and work in Everett. It’s written by Leland Dart a former Snohomish County based radio reporter born and raised in Everett.

View all posts by myeverettnews
advert

Comments are closed.