Everett School District Recognizes Four National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

October 3, 2021

Everett Schools

Four students were recognized by the Everett School District as having been named as National Merit Scholarship semifinalists. Here’s the word.

Photos provided by Everett School District.

Four outstanding Everett Public Schools seniors have been named as National Merit Scholarship semifinalists. Ryan Cho, Alan Fu and Kiran Hubbard of Henry M. Jackson High School and Everett High’s Audrey Weir join about 16,000 other students nationwide who qualified for this prestigious honor.

Semifinalists represent less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors who achieved the highest scores on the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT).

To become a finalist, the semifinalist and a high school official must submit a detailed scholarship application that includes information about the semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, honors and awards received. A semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official and write an essay.

Scholarship winners are the finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is a United States scholarship competition for recognition and university scholarships administered by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), a privately funded, non-for-profit organization based in Evanston, Illinois.

About My Everett News Staff

My Everett News is a hyperlocal news website featuring news and events in Everett, Washington. We also cover City of Everett information and items of interest to those who live and work in Everett.

View all posts by My Everett News Staff