Process To Appoint District Commission Continues Wednesday Night At Everett City Council

May 28, 2019

Everett Government


The Mayor and each member of the Everett City Council will choose one applicant to serve on the commission.

Here are the names and neighborhoods of the people who applied to be on the commission that will draw up the first ever boundaries for Everett City Council districts. There are 44 applicants from 18 Everett, Washington neighborhoods. Each current Everett City Council member and the Mayor will select one one commissioner and those eight individuals will appoint the final, 9th member. Commissioners must be Everett residents and can’t be a City employee, a candidate for elected office or a current elected official (except precinct officer).

The Commission will hire a “Districting Master” who will help them develop a district plan, including a map; the Commission can also retain other consultant support. The Commission will also engage the community and solicit feedback as they develop the draft plan. The draft district plan, including the map, will be shared with the public for comment with at least six meetings (one in each district area and one full community). These meetings will start no later than Sept. 2020.

The final district plan and map must be approved by the Commission no later than Nov. 1, 2020. City Council will then adopt the plan without modification.

This year there are challenged races for positions 4 and 5 for both Scott Bader and Liz Vogeli (2-year, at-large terms). Positions 6 and 7 (4-year, at-large terms) have Judy Tuohy and Brenda Stonecipher without challengers this time around.

2021 will be the first election by district. Candidates can run for 4-year terms in positions 1-5, representing the new districts. In 2023, there will be elections for positions 6 and 7 for 4-year, at-large terms.

Selections are the last item on the agenda for the Everett City Council meeting this Wednesday May 29th. The meeting starts at 6:30 PM and can be seen online or on Everett TV on cable. You can also attend in person at City Council Chambers, 3002 Wetmore in downtown Everett.

Janinna Attick – Cascade View
David Beetham – Port Gardner
Sonja Bodge – – Delta
Ann Brooks – Lowell
Josh Brunner – Riverside
Michael Carter – Cascade View
Diane Claussen – Cascade View
Mary Fosse – Delta
Chris Geray – Silver Lake
Connery Glans – View Ridge Madison
Dale Good – Silver Lake
Jim Grieco – Twin Creeks
Kylie Guerrero Flores – Lowell
Glenn Kadish – Boulevard Bluffs
Sumit Karn – Delta
Kimberly Kelley – South Forest Park
Linden Kimbrough – Lowell
James Langus – South Forest Park
Julie Martin – Boulevard Bluffs
Daniel Maynor – Delta
Ethel McNeal – Twin Creeks
John McNeill – Northwest
John Monroe – Port Gardner
Elizabeth Mullen – Bayside
Jo Newland – Delta
Annzolee Olsen – Port Gardner
Judith Prince – Evergreen
Kari Quaas Northwest
Paula Rhyne – Port Gardner
Steve Rivera – Lowell
Mary Rollins – Glacier View
Giovanne Schachere – Port Gardner
Nathan Shelby – Harborview-Seahurst-Glenhaven
John Simon – Bayside
Jordan Stephens – Northwest
Simone Tarvet – Bayside
Michael Trujillo – Cascade View
Lois Wentink – View Ridge Madison
Jennifer Willows – Northwest
Julius Wilson – Westmont
Troy Wold – Pinehurst
Benjamin Young – Valley View
Laura Zorick – Riverside
Sierra Zweig – Port Gardner


About My Everett News Staff

My Everett News is a hyperlocal news website featuring news and events in Everett, Washington. We also cover City of Everett information and items of interest to those who live, work, and play in Everett.

View all posts by My Everett News Staff