Everett City Councilman Appointed to Snohomish County Health District Board

February 22, 2014

Everett, Everett Government

[ad#Google Adsense-2]

Snohomish Health board

Everett City Councilman Scott Murphy (seated) watches as other members are sworn in.

Everett City Councilman Scott Murphy joined five other new appointees to serve on the Board of the Snohomish Health District. The 15-member board is composed of the five Snohomish County Council members, and 10 elected officials representing the county’s 20 incorporated cities and towns.

The new members are Ken Klein, Snohomish County Council District 1; Terry Ryan, Snohomish County Council District 4; Suzie Ashworth, Granite Falls City Council; Scott Murphy, Everett City Council; Sam Low, Lake Stevens City Council; and Sid Roberts, Lynnwood City Council.

“Our Health Board is a really positive group of people who are truly committed to improving the public’s health,” said Dr. Gary Goldbaum, Health Officer and Director of the Snohomish Health District. Dr. Goldbaum also is Secretary to the Board. “Each board member works toward the improved well-being of every resident in Snohomish County. They are highly motivated to help local public health succeed in its mission.”

Dr. Goldbaum said that the first major undertaking for the board will be to update the Health District’s strategic plan for continuing its work in light of financial constraints and health care reform.

The board’s continuing members are Snohomish County Council member Stephanie Wright (Chair), Edmonds City Council member Adrienne Fraley-Monillas (Vice-chair), Marysville City Council member Donna Wright, Snohomish County Council member Brian Sullivan, Snohomish County Council member Dave Somers, Brier City Council member John Joplin, Mukilteo City Council member Linda Grafer, Mountlake Terrace City Council member Seaun Richards, and Snohomish Mayor Karen Guzak.

Health Board meetings are open to the public and include an opportunity for public comment. The full Board of Health normally meets each month at 3 p.m. on the second Tuesday of the month, in the Health District auditorium, 3020 Rucker Ave., Everett, Wash., 98201. Occasionally meetings are scheduled on other dates. Call 425.339.5210 or email admin@snohd.org for current meeting dates.

Snohomish Health District was created in 1959 under Washington State Law (RCW 70.46) as the municipal corporation responsible for public health in Snohomish County. The Health District works for a safer and healthier Snohomish County through disease prevention, health promotion, and protection from environmental threats. Find more information about the Health District by clicking here.


About My Everett News Staff

My Everett News is a hyperlocal news website featuring news and events in Everett, Washington. We also cover City of Everett information and items of interest to those who live and work in Everett.

View all posts by My Everett News Staff